Q&A with Lorna Burford of Raindrops of Sapphire

I discovered Lorna’s style blog Raindrops of Sapphire a few months ago when she blogged about the Lulu Guinness SS12 collection (we missed each other twice at Lulu Guinness press days). She’s a lovely girl who loves to wear jeans as much as I love to wear dresses. Last week I asked her if she’d like to do a little Q&A, and guess what, she did! And I’m so sorry for asking her so many tough questions!

lorna-burford-1

1. I’ve noticed that you love to wear jeans. Why?

I’m a denim expert and have been working with jeans since I was 17. I have a deep rooted passion for them and I actually honestly don’t know where it comes from. It’s an obsession of mine and I get so excited over jeans, it’s crazy. I guess like some ladies have a shoe addiction (I have a minor one), I have a jeans addiction.

2. If you could choose 3 London Fashion Week shows to attend, which would you choose?

I would definitely love to attend Mulberry and Burberry, those two would be fantastic! A third one would be a wishful thinking one and hope that Marc Jacobs would show here one time, ha ha.

3. What are your top 5 favourite brands?

I love Marc Jacobs, Topshop, Rag & Bone and Current/Elliott, if you are making me just pick 5!

4. Do you have a style icon?

Not really, I tend to like a few celebs style, like Olivia Palermo, Jessica Alba and Zac Efron, but generally I don’t have one style icon that I would look up to all the time. I take my inspiration from everywhere.

5. Which country would you love to travel to?

Well, it’s not actually a country, it’s a city and it’s Los Angeles. Although I would love to travel to America in general, LA has always been a dream! But somewhere closer to home would definitely be France and Italy, although I would absolutely love to travel to Australia!

6. Do you have any tips for new bloggers or people who want to start a blog?

I do actually and I think it might be best to link to my blog post that I wrote on this a while back. It’s full of details which can help. RaindropsofSapphire – How to become a Fashion Blogger. But the main ones would be stay true to who you are and have a clean, easy to view layout!

7. What do you like to do besides blogging?

Probably the same as most other bloggers, shopping! Shopping or just browsing online, not necessarily buying clothes, but just shopping in general. But outside all of that it would be spending time with my boyfriend, countryside views and definitely animals, I love being around them and looking after them.

8. Do you have a favourite place in London?

I have a few places that I love in London. Oxford Street is one of them as I love shopping, but I also really like being near Buckingham Palace and Big Ben, the sights are beautiful! Since I don’t live in London, when I go there I always feel like a tourist, ha ha.

9. What has been the most exciting thing that’s happened since you started your blog?

Ooooh, there are a few! One would be doing my jeans collaboration with Paige Denim. We created 5 different cuts in the Lorna wash and they went on sale and sold out, which was incredible. Getting a few features in magazines like ASOS, H&M and LOOK magazine. Designing my own jeans from scratch for an up and coming brand two years ago. A collaboration that’s in process right now is also very exciting for me. There have been a few, but I guess the most exciting thing I love is my readers. Seeing their comments every day and their appreciation for my blog means a lot to me.

10. How would you describe your style?

Honestly, I don’t think one word could describe it. I like to wear a lot of different things, depending on my mood. Sometimes it’s girly and sweet, while other times it’s a little tougher and more on edge. It really depends, but mostly it does consist of denim and jackets.

11. If you could choose to live in another century, what century would you like to live in?

I think the Roman/Egyptian era was amazing. It’s always been something that fascinated me when learning. But could I choose a decade instead? I would have liked to have known what it was like in the 60’s or to have grown up in the 80’s. I was born in 88 so I missed most of the 80’s, but it seemed like such a cool time!

12. Why did you name your blog ‘Raindrops of Sapphire’?

I wanted something really unique and different, something that was memorable and intriguing, so it was sort of random by putting two things together, however it does have meaning. Raindrops is very fitting as I live in England and lets face it, we aren’t short of rain, are we? Ha ha. The sapphires is because I love jewellery and have a huge passion for it. So I pictured in my head, sapphires falling out of the sky like raindrops and how pretty it would be. Raindrops of Sapphire then seemed right.

13. What is your favourite fashion item you own?

Hmm this one is tough! I don’t think I could pick just one thing. My jeans collection as a whole plays a huge role in my life and my style, but I do have a couple of beautiful Mulberry bags that I own and love, or some shoes. I don’t think I could pick just one thing, that’s too tough. I generally love most of my purchases and only buy items that I love and will wear, so narrowing it down to one is too hard, sorry!

14. What would you buy if you could spend £5,000?

Is this related to fashion or anything in general? If it’s fashion, I would probably not buy something super expensive, I would probably just go on a big shopping spree and stock up on some essentials that I needed, things that would be worn over and over again. Some beautiful shoes and bags too! But if it’s not fashion related, then I would probably give some away, if that counts as spending, and I would love to buy my boyfriend an Omega watch he’s always wanted. There is a Nikon D7000 we want too, that would be on the list. I’m not sure, it’s a tough question. I’ve never even had over £1,000 to my name before, so I’m not really a very greedy person or a person who has a huge list of expensive things. Pretty much all of my designer items are bought in the sale or at outlets so are less than half price. I know it shouldn’t be, but it’s probably one of the toughest questions I have been asked lol.

3 thoughts on “Q&A with Lorna Burford of Raindrops of Sapphire

Leave a Reply

