Book Review – I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

Sophie Kinsella is one of my favourite authors. I started reading the Shopaholic series about 2 years ago and immediately fell in love with the wittiness and humour of the books and the hilariously financially unorganised Becky. She’s such a heart-warming and real character, I really could identify and feel with her, especially since I seem to have a little shopping problem myself (psssh!). Sophie Kinsella’s writing style is easy to read and understand without affecting the story in a bad way (what I mean is, it’s easy, but not too easy to read..if you get my drift). Of course it’s chick lit through and through, you should realise this by looking at the book cover or reading the summary. After I was through with the Shopaholic series, I went on to read her other books ‘Twenties Girl’, ‘Can you keep a secret?’ and ‘The Undomestic Goddess’ too. I think I haven’t been so captivated by an author or story since reading ‘Harry Potter’. In February, Sophie Kinsella’s latest book, ‘I’ve Got Your Number’ was published – a book I’ve been looking forward to read.

Summary: ‘I’ve lost it. 😦 The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive!! 🙂

A couple of glasses of bubbly with the girls at a charity do and Poppy’s life has gone into meltdown. Not only has she lost her engagement ring, but in the panic that followed, she’s lost her phone too. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number with the hotel staff. It was meant to be! Except the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back, and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, phone messages and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents, can things get any more tangled?’

I think the summary tells us a lot about the book, although there are some things which are confusing if you’ve read the summary before the book (which, I guess, everyone does..). For example, it isn’t actually Sam’s phone that Poppy Wyatt finds, but his PA’s phone who dumped her job. Anyway, I don’t want to give away too much. All I can say is: READ THIS BOOK!!! 🙂 It’s really worth it.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

