Willkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome…to Cabaret!

The last time I’ve acted in a stage play (or probably ‘Musical’ is a better word here), was 2 years ago, and ooh, how I’ve missed it! The hurricane of applause you get at the end of each show is worth everything: every tiring rehearsal, every little ‘What am I doing here?!’ thought, every time I got stage fright minutes and seconds before I went on stage with the others. It shows you that all of that was not for nothing and that the audience enjoyed the show. It’s like a huge wave of relief. I don’t play a lead character, which I’m, in fact, glad for, as they are so stressed out before each show that they’re near tears. I’m very happy, costume-wise, because I feel comfortable in my costume and it looks really cool, like some Cabaret girl from the 20s (which is, I guess, what it’s supposed to look like…).

We’re all backstage 3 hours before each show starts to get our hair and make-up done and the last person is ready about 5 minutes before it starts. We’re a team of about 90 people (first and second cast) and you have no idea what happens backstage in those 3 hours. Everyone runs around like a headless chicken, looking for someone or something who/which isn’t there! It’s mayhem, I tell you!

In the words of the ‘conferencier’:

“Willkommen, bienvenue, welcome! Fremder, étranger, stranger. Glücklich zu sehen, je suis enchanté, Happy to see you, bleibe, reste, stay!” xx

One thought on “Willkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome…to Cabaret!

  1. Pingback: Memories Of 2012 In Pictures (And Words) | sarahbogott

Leave a Reply

