It’s the little things in life

It’s the little things in life that often make me smile the most. For example, I saw a man this morning, standing on the pavement right in the middle of rush hour with a huge bunch of flowers in his hand, glancing at his clock every now and then, and it just put a huge smile on my face. I’m sure the flowers brightened up the day of whoever got them. I had an idea and made a list of things I love and everytime I feel depressed, which is quite often at this time of the year, I’ll look at it and it makes me feel that little bit better.

Things that make me feel good:

The smell of flowers and my favourite perfume, Black XS by Paco Rabanne. The thought of the weekend on a Friday morning (‘only one more day’). When I wake up at 4 o’clock in the morning and think of how I can still sleep for another 3 hours. Cuddling with my bunny. An early morning in Central London (drunks who pass stupid comments not included!). Watching the sunset on Primrose Hill on a warm summer day. Strolling through Hampstead Heath. Cupcakes, decorated with little things like sugar roses or strawberries. Looking at shop windows, no matter if I can afford the things or not (eye candy!). Bubble Tea in my favourite Bubble Tea “lab” in Soho (Bubbeology on Rupert Street). Trying on dresses in Anthropologie, just because I always get the biggest fitting room. Spending afternoons in Hamleys (makes me feel like a child again). All kinds of photoshoots (especially history themed ones). Taking photos of everything and everyone, because it’s sooo much fun. Putting on red lipstick; don’t ask me why, I just like it. Going to Musicals with friends. Evenings/Nights of watching (horror) movies while eating chocolate and drinking coffee to stay awake. Being outside in the countryside at night, listening to all the noises. Watching the stars at night. Listening to piano music. Getting a task for the boss done. Giving little presents to friends because I feel like it. Walking through the streets of London. Bateaux mouches on the Seine and the Eiffel Tower at night. Walking barefooted through the sand on the beach in summer. Carrying at least 5 shopping bags, containing lovely new stuff, while walking through crowded streets. The lilac/white striped bags you get when you buy something at Lulu Guinness. The smell when you enter a bakery (not all of them, but some smell like chocolate cake, mmmh). The sigh of relief I make as soon as I get out of a plane (yep, nervous flyer..). The memories I share with my friends. Ice cream with weird flavours.

There are loooots of other things, but those are the ones I could think of when I made that list, and they’re enough to make me feel happy again.

One thought on “It’s the little things in life

Leave a Reply

